top of page
  • Writer's pictureSuchita Senthil Kumar

The Sunshine Blogger Award

Updated: Apr 16, 2021



The Sunshine Blogger Award is given to bloggers by other bloggers who are creative, positive, and inspiring. I'm immensely honoured, and thankful to Linz at Sunset Books and Wine for nominating me. It's a lovely feeling to be recognised for any little thing you do. Thank you, thank you so much! Check out her Award post here.


The Sunshine Blogger Award Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you and provide a link to their blog

  • Answer the 11 questions asked by the person who nominated you

  • Nominate 11 people and ask them 11 questions

  • Notify the nominees

  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award image in your post

I Answer


1. What is your favourite series of all time?

My most favourite series of all time is Operation MBBS by Dice Media. As an MBBS aspirant myself, this series takes one through the First Year of Medical school in its very few episodes. Its characters are all so lovable and are people you've surely met in your life. It's beautifully realistic, funny, and a lovely series to watch.


2. What place/country will you travel to next?

I'm mostly going to travel to Velayudhampaalayam, a little village in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Not sure how soon that will happen though.


3. What would be your perfect day/night if money was no object?

I think I'd visit the Taj West End Hotel and stay there. I've only heard stories of it from the times my father visited there for Office dinners and have only seen it through the gate. Because money isn't the issue here, I'd love to go in and have lunch there. Apart from being known for their amazing food, they're also known for their hospitality and the beauty of the Taj. I'd love to see all that. The rest of the day I think I'll spend buying all the books that I've wanted to buy but couldn't.


4. What was the best thing to happen to you last year?

The best thing to happen to me in 2020, as cliché as it sounds, is the starting of my blog. I began seriously writing and posting my work online, sending submissions to Literary Magazines, reading more about writing, and simultaneously blogging about writing as well. This has to be one of the main reasons why I'm still sane despite all that's raging around us.


5. What did you read most recently?

The last book that I read was Words That Kept Me Going by my dear friend Surabhi Gupta. It's a beautiful tale told through letters exchanged between two people.


6. What do you first notice about someone when you meet them?

I think I notice the way someone smiles. Some people smile widely, like myself, it's all teeth. Some people have a tight lipped smile. I notice how people smile :)


7. Favourite place in the world?

My most favourite place in the world is Bangalore, my city. I could talk on for days about how beautiful this city is. It truly stands by both its names - The Garden City and The Silicon Valley. There are tall and green trees on both sides of the roads forming a beautiful canopy above our heads. There are buildings to watch and marvel at for as they're shaped like a ship, or a sphere, and sometimes far too tall for the eye to see. Then there are buildings that have lasted longer than one could imagine - old hotels, Temples, Churches, and Mosques. There's always traffic on the road and as you get accustomed to the city, even the honking sounds sound like music to the ears.


8. What is something you wish you could be good at?

I wish I could be good at writing. I'm constantly trying to improve my writing by doing most of what I can. It would be lovely if I could write something and think to myself 'Woah, you're good at this'.


9. What is one goal you are determined to achieve in your lifetime?

I hope this doesn't come across as too boring but this is it. My mother's father owns fields in different places around Tamil Nadu, a South Indian state. All except one are now lying dry and barren for almost the last 32 years or so (ever since my Grandfather started growing old). I want to revive these fields, grow crops, and feed my people.


10. What is your biggest strength?

My biggest strength. This took me a while. I had to sit and think about what I was actually good at. I think my biggest strength is that I look at the world differently. I'm always trying to look at things, people, and places as though they were all poetry and I believe there is beauty in everything. I don't know how that would count as a strength, but it gives me power to be looking for light even in the dark.


11. What is your favourite food?

My favourite food is this Mangalorean dish called 'Basale Saaru'. It is prepared using Mangalore Spinach, lentils, coconut, and freshly ground masala.


I nominate

1. Queenie Resmundo at The Queensights

2. Eleanor Jones at Not-So-Modern Girl

4. Angie at She Can Blog

5. Ekta Swarnkar at Tia Says

8. Saph at Simply Saph

9. Britt at Shed Happens

10. Sophie Harriet at This Brilliant Day

11. Rupal Srivatsava at Totally MOM-Sense


Your turn!

1. Who inspires you?

2. What is one memory that has you laughing as you think about it even today?

3. If you could win any award, what would it be?

4. When did you begin blogging?

5. What is your favourite part about blogging?

6. What is your least favourite part about blogging?

7. What is one thing people often misunderstand about you?

8. What is your favourite festival and why?

9. What is your blog about?

10. If you could donate money to only one charity, which charity would it be?

11. What kind of stories do you like reading?


Many thanks again to Linz for the nomination. This is such a lovely initiative. Make sure to check out these amazing bloggers and shower some love! x



bottom of page