top of page
  • Writer's pictureSuchita Senthil Kumar

Excerpts from Bharathiyar's Poetry that Empower You

Updated: Apr 16, 2021



On 11th December, Ettaiyapuram saw the birth of a man who would grow up to be the voice of resilience and empowerment in many. Bharathiyar was a Tamizh journalist, reformer, activist, and a pioneer in literature. He coined the term Kannamma which is used until today in Tamizh literature and as a term of endearment. He is the author of Panchali Sabadham (Panchali's Oath), Theeratha Vilayattu Pillai, Odi Vilayadu Paapa, Kaakai Chiraginile, among others.

I would like to have a special mention of 'Kannamma' before we begin, and what it means for as it makes several appearances in this post and also in Bharathiyar's Poetry. Kannu translates to eye in Tamizh, and is often used as a term of endearment (think of 'apple of my eye'). Amma translates to mother, and is essentially used as a suffix while adressing a woman. Kannamma was Bharathiyar's ideal of Pudhumai Pen or the Modern Woman (this is way back in the late 1900s we're talking about). He idealised a woman who had her voice, was proud to be a woman, was independent, and resilient. His Kannamma series of poems adresses all of womanhood, a Daughter, Lover, Mother, Wife, and Goddess.


1.

அச்சமில்லை அச்சமில்லை அச்சமென்பதில்லையே

Achhamillai achhamillai achhamenbadhillai

'Achham' means fear and 'illai' signifies the absence or inexistence of something. 'Accham-enbadhu' translates to 'something such as fear'.

This one word, 'achhamillai', I make sure to write in all my notebooks like a ritual because glancing at this then and now fills me with all the resilience and patriotism I'll ever need. There are several musicians who've come up with their renditions of Achhamillai if you'd like to listen to this.


2.

காலா! உனை நான் சிறு புல்லென மதிக்கிறேன்; என்தன் காலருகே வாடா! சற்றே உனை மிதிக்கிறேன்!


Kala! Unnai naan siru pullena madhikkiren; endhan

kalaruge vaada! Sattre unnai midhikkiren!

Kala! I consider you to be lesser than grass; beneath

my feet you fall! And in an instant, I'll step (stamp) on you!


I can never do justice to translating this poem. Here, 'Kala' is addressing Yaman, the Lord of Death. Midhi means to stamp and is considered offensive. Vaa is a term used to call someone forth, the da that follows is used to address someone without respect. If there is anyone that can use language dripping with offense, and disrespect directed towards the Lord of Death, it is Bharathiyar.

This has always instilled a sense of fearlessness in me. As long as you do the right things, even death cannot reach you. I truly believe it is very hard to kill someone who is unafraid of death. Though Bharathiyar died in 1921 aged 39, he still lives, with his spirit lingering in the minds and souls of all those people he inspires.

3.

செந்தமிழ் நாடெனும் போதினிலே

இன்பத் தேன் வந்து பாயுது காதினிலே

எங்கள் தந்தையர் நாடென்ற பேச்சினிலே

ஒரு சக்தி பிறக்குது மூச்சினிலே


Senthamizh naadenum podhinile

Inba thaen vandhu paayudhu kaadhinile

Engal thandhaiyaar naadenra pechinile

Oru shakthi pirakkudhu moochinile

When we utter the name of our land,

it feels as though the honey of happiness flows into our ears.

When we talk of the land that belonged to our forefathers,

we feel a surge of power born in our every breath.

I can't emphasise on how much I love this poem. Every time I read this poem, it makes me fall in love with India, and Tamizh Nadu even more.


4.

சுட்டும் விழிச் சுடர் தான் கண்ணம்மா சூரிய சந்திரரோ

வட்டக் கரிய விழி கண்ணம்மா வானக்கருமை கொலோ


Suttum vizhi sudar thaan Kannamma suriya chanthiraro

Vattakkariya vizhi Kannamma vaana karumai kollo

He tells Kannamma, his lover:

I see the scorching of the sun and glowing of the moon in your eyes,

the depth of whose round black orbs are like that of the never-ending pitch black sky.

5.

சின்னஞ்சிறுகிளியே, கண்ணம்மா

செல்வக் களஞ்சியமே!

என்னைக் கலிதீர்த்தே உலகில்

ஏற்றம் புரிய வந்தாய்!

Chinanjiru Kiliye, Kannamma

Selvakalanjiyame!

Ennaik kalitheerthe ulagil

Yettram puriya vanthay!

To a little girl (presumably a daughter):

My petite little parrot, Kannama,

Selvakalanjiyame!

To aggrandize my once worthless existence,

you came into my life!

I couldn't find an English word or phrase that means the same as 'Selvakalanjiyam'. Selvam refers to wealth, and kalanjiyam is what you would call a repository; a place where something is found in abundance. This poem is very close to my heart, and every daughter to have read it. Bharathiyar as a parent, lovingly addresses the Daughter and calls her his 'wealth repository'. He tells his daughter how important her birth was; giving him meaning to thrive, and how with her by his side, his stature in life is elevated.

I don't know if every parent looks at their daughter and feel this way, but it does instil a sense of pride and elation in me for being a Daughter.

6.

உச்சிதனை முகந்தால் – கருவம்

ஓங்கி வளருதடி

Ucchithanai mukandhal - garvam

oangi valarudhatee

When I kiss your forehead - pride

grows, surging through me.

Again, another excerpt from his Kannamma poems, this is also form Chinanjiru Kiliye as #5. This is how the mother or father feels when they kiss their daughter's forehead. To even think that one's parents would be this proud to have you as their child.


7.

மங்கையராய்ப் பிறப்பதற்கு

மாதவம் செய்திட வேண்டும்


Mangaiyaarai pirapatharku

Maadhavam seidhida vendum


To be born as a woman,

one must have performed tempestuous penance.


Womanhood worshipped in five words. It's important to remember that this was written at a time in India when women were not in their prime. I've heard women, my Mother, my Aunts and Grandmothers speak about how empowering it was to them to read excerpts from his poems such as this one in their school textbooks and reflect on it. Despite how society treated them, it kept telling them that they had a voice, and that their mere existence is that of greatness. About thirty-forty years from when this was first written, it still doesn't fail to instil a sense of empowerment in women.


 

Excursus and Author's Notes:

Many thanks to my Mother and Father for getting me to read and listen to Bharathiyar's songs, and for taking me back to their times and making me live in their world, teaching me the importance of literature.

I've tried my best at translating Tamizh into English, although there have been several changes I've made because I couldn't find fitting English counterparts for the Tamizh words.

I'd be delighted for anyone to reach out to me for the word-to-word meaning of any of these excerpts, or translatory suggestions.

1 comment
bottom of page