top of page
  • Eleanor Jones (notsomoderngirl)

Top 5 Tips to Starting a New Writing Project | Guest Post

Updated: Apr 16, 2021





Starting a new writing project can be daunting, and it’s tough to know how or where to start if you’re lacking in motivation, confidence, or ideas.

But there are a few ways you can make any new writing project a little easier to navigate, and you can finally get started on that brand new writing project!


Here are a few tips to starting a new project, and some easy tricks to get yourself going.


1. Make a plan

If you have an idea for a new project, it’s a great start to make a quick plan before you get going. It can be hard to know where to start, so what I like to do first of all is get a piece of paper (or a clean word document) and note down everything I want to write about.

You might change where you end up going, but this can be a great way to mind-map ideas and decide where you’re going to start with your project.


2. Just get started!

While I like to plan and decide where I want to start, sometimes the most important thing is to just get started with your new project. It can be daunting, but you need to just dive into a project- and see where you end up!

Writers always say the first step to any project is to just start writing, and break the “silence” of the blank page- and I agree. Even if you’re writing something you’ll never use again, sometimes you need to just push yourself to get started with a new project.


3. Do your research

If you’re starting a new writing project, chances are there is some research you need to do for it.

Whether it’s fiction or non-fiction, doing a little bit of preliminary research can be the perfect way to understand your subject and know where to start.


4. Put aside time

If you lead a busy life, it can be hard to find the time to write or research a new writing project. But if you have a new project you’re passionate about, you need to put aside a little time to work on it.

For example, I only work 3 shifts a week, so I’m lucky to spend most of my time blogging. But I put time aside in the evenings to work on my writing, and I plan what I am going to work on day-by-day, making sure I meet any deadlines and also have time to work on any personal project plans.


If you need some tips to staying productive, I recently wrote a post all about making the most of your time.


5. Take inspiration from others

I love taking inspiration from others- other bloggers, other writers, and even people in my personal life. Bouncing ideas off someone you know, or chatting to another writer, can be so great for unlocking the creativity and inspiration you may need to start a new writing project- and actually keep going with it.

Whenever I need a blog post idea or I’m struggling to word my thoughts I chat to my parents, my sister, and my boyfriend- and I usually manage to sort out my ideas into something that makes more sense!


Thank you so much for featuring my post Suchita! I can’t wait to implement these tips myself as I start to spend more of my days writing, blogging, and planning exciting new projects for 2021.


 

About the author: Today's guest post is by the lovely Eleanor Jones. She blogs under the name - notsomoderngirl, and her blog represents the thoughts of a twenty-something girl living in the UK. She writes regular film, book, and lifestyle posts. Find more of Eleanor on her Blog and Twitter.


bottom of page