top of page
  • Writer's pictureSuchita Senthil Kumar

Blogger Recognition Award



A desk with a laptop, book, glasses, some cornflakes, coffe/tea, a plant, sticky notes and pen. A person's hands with a white and black striped sweater is seen typing on the laptop.
Image by Wix

Many thanks to Linz from Sunsets Books and Wine for tagging me in this Awards. She is a constant inspiration to me and has a lovely blog at sunsetsbooksandwine.com. Do check her blog out, I'm sure you'll love it!


Rules

  • Thank the blogger that nominated you and give a link to their site

  • Do a post to show your award

  • Give a summary of how your blog started

  • Give two pieces of advice for any new bloggers

  • Select at least 15 other bloggers for this award

  • Let each nominee know you’ve nominated them and give a link to your post


How My Blog Started

I had several blogs before I settled with this one. I first began with a mental health activism blog but didn't begin working on it because of other commitments.

After 2019, I decided that I wanted to focus on my writing and began a writing blog on Blogger where I posted my short stories, essays and the like. I shared those with my parents' friends and my family.

Soon, with the pandemic that hit us all, I was able to take a proper decision and I began this current blog.

I now have a separate 'Writing' section where I post my work and a 'Blog' section where I blog about writing. I don't share my work to friends and family these days because I've come to realise that they aren't my audience.

I don't have too many readers but I'm enjoying what I do and it gives me a lot of freedom and joy.


My Advice to New Bloggers

I don't consider myself yet in a position to be giving advice but here is my take on this.

As a new blogger, don't be afraid as you figure out which web developer you want to be using to create your blog. I had a lot of confusion on this matter and ended up creating websites on Blogger, Weebly, Wix and WordPress. I've finally settled for Wix because I find it easy to use.

There will be a lot of 'Blogging Dos and Don'ts' but I think you can take liberty here and there if you think you need it. Don't feel compelled to do something that isn't working for you just because someone mentioned it on their rulebook. There are of course some must dos that you should keep in mind (such as spam, privacy of readers and the like).

Enjoy the process of being a blogger, this has to be the most important thing I have to say. Whether or not I have readers, I love revamping my website, creating content, making Pins, and just being a blogger. Being a blogger gives you voice and the space to speak it out. Use it wisely and happily is all I'll say. You're going to love this ride.


I nominate

  1. Allison at Nutmeg Diaries

  2. Ekta at Tia Says

  3. Saph at Simply Saph

  4. Britt at Shed Happens

  5. Rupal Srivatsava at Totally MOM-sense

  6. Angie at She Can Blog

  7. Queenie Resumundo at The Queensights

There are some other lovely bloggers I'd like to nominate but I see that they've already been nominated so I'll stop with 7.


bottom of page