top of page
  • Writer's pictureSuchita Senthil Kumar

Reading Challenge 2021

Updated: Apr 16, 2021



It's been three beautiful days in January for me. I haven't done anything different these last three days but I'm hoping to be more productive from Monday 😆. I'm not going to talk too much about the Goodreads Reading Challenge 2021 and I'll get straight to the part where I tell you about my plans for the Challenge.


Why 27 books?

I see people pledging 40 books or 58 books from my friends list and it makes me feel like 27 is small. It definitely is but I don't want to overpromise and watch myself fail. 27 to me seems like a number I'd be able to read but will have to work for it and that's lovely. I also like the number 27, I'm a tad bit superstitious with numbers.


What books are you going to read?

Like last year, I'm planning to be reading more Classics. I've set my eyes on The Red Badge of Courage, and The Odd Women and a few others. I'm also trying to read more poetry books this year.


Do you have a reading schedule?

Not specifically, no. I've never maintained a 'schedule' or a certain time to when I should pick up a book and start reading. I read throughout the day and there is no specific time of the day I can read better. I remember hearing somewhere that it's good to read early in the morning, and I tried to try it. It didn't work too well is all.


Do you like to drink/eat something as you read?

I'm not too good with eatables and books. I haven't had the habit of eating or drinking as I read a book. I've seen people in movies reading with a cup of coffee in their hand, and I envy them so much. It'd take me less than three seconds to spill all contents of the cup onto myself and my book. So, eating and drinking as I read is a big no to me. Especially, if it's a physical book that I'm reading.


What is the first book you're going to begin with?

I began reading The Odd Women by George Gissing last year but had to place the book aside. I've only made it past the first few pages, but it's lovely and I can tell.


Are you going to write Book Reviews?

Definitely. I'll be posting my reviews on Goodreads, and here on my blog too. I've never written serious book reviews before. Everytime I read a book and updated that on Goodreads, I'd just rate it and maybe add my thoughts but never thought of those as proper reviews. I'm super excited to be doing this now!


If you'd like, you can friend me on Goodreads too.


 

bottom of page